Four new College Honorary Fellowships

Four new Honorary Fellowships were conferred by the College at our first ever Virtual Diploma Ceremony on the 4th September.

Four new College Honorary Fellowships

Four new Honorary Fellowships were conferred by the College at our first ever Virtual Diploma Ceremony on the 4th September.

The prestigious awards were made to senior clinicians from across the world, who have made huge contributions to healthcare.

Receiving the awards were:

Professor Carrie MacEwen

Professor MacEwen recently completed her elected terms as Chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges, and is immediate past President of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists. She is a Consultant Ophthalmologist at Ninewells Hospital, and an Honorary Professor at University of Dundee. Amongst her many other roles, Professor MacEwen is Associate Postgraduate Dean for the Scotland east region for less than full time medical training. In addition, Professor MacEwen is ophthalmology specialty adviser to the Scottish Chief Medical Officer and Scottish Government, and clinical lead of NHS England/Improvement Getting It Right First Time ophthalmology workstream.

Professor Mary Horgan

Professor Horgan is the current President of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland and Professor at the School of Medicine, University College Cork (UCC), Ireland. She trained as a specialist in Infectious Diseases at Mater University Hospital, Dublin and then Washington University Missouri, returning to Cork as a Consultant where she has made enormous contributions to education and training. This contribution includes restructuring the undergraduate curriculum at UCC, and developing a new curriculum for all trainees in internal medicine.

Professor Philip Helliwell

Professor Helliwell is Professor of Clinical Rheumatology at the University of Leeds, and Honorary Consultant Rheumatologist at the Leeds Teaching Hospitals, and Bradford Teaching Hospital Foundation Trust. He developed and led a world-leading programme of Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal foot and ankle disease research. Professor Helliwell established the first multidisciplinary research team building capacity in allied health scientists but in particular podiatry. He is credited solely with establishing the academic base in Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal disease podiatry in the UK.

Professor Hithanadura Janaka de Silva

Professor de Silva is an eminent physician and Director of the Postgraduate Institute of Medicine which oversees all Postgraduate training in Sri Lanka. He trained in internal medicine and gastroenterology, and also has a special interest in tropical diseases. He achieved a D Phil from University of Oxford and then became a Wellcome Fellow and Wingate Scalar.

Speaking after the ceremony, College President Professor Jackie Taylor said:

“The significant work of each new Honorary Fellow of the College has been remarkable. Professors Carrie MacEwen and Mary Horgan have been inspirational in helping clear the way for female doctors to follow in their footsteps. They have both been outstanding advisors and role models.

“Professor Philip Helliwell’s ground-breaking research around Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal disease podiatry has helped shape this discipline and he has proved himself to be an exceptional leader for the profession.

“Professor Hithanadura Janaka de Silva’s work in Sri Lanka have resulted in training and support to new members of our profession. This visit came on the back of our College’s significant work there to help support the development of the medical profession in the country. This award will help us to work together in delivering an even better future for doctors and the provision of healthcare in Sri Lanka.

“It is my privilege to be able to award these Honorary Fellowship on behalf of our College.”

Back to all articles

We provide a daily update on the day’s top health news by WhatsApp. To subscribe, please add our number (+447458012663) to your contacts as “College Voice” and then send "NEWS" as a WhatsApp message to +447458012663 for a daily update for the news that matters to you.

Who we are

We are a worldwide community of inspiring health professionals working together to advance our profession and improve patient care.

Read more

What we do

Over the past year we’ve made great advances in professionalising our approach to engaging more effectively with government and the wider health sector.

Read more

What we stand for

Together we are demanding action to address workforce shortages and implement solutions to help reduce staff burnout.

Read more